Optical angular momentum carrying laser harmonic beam from semiconducting crystal

Willemn Boutu (LIDyL), Marc Hanna (LCF)

Laser beams carrying optical angular momentum (OAM) have led to various applications in many fields, from quantum information technologies to microscopy. Such beams are mainly created in the visible domain. Their recent extension to the XUV domain through high order harmonic generation opens the way towards the creation of nanometer size vortices.

HHG is here produced by focusing a femtosecond laser pulse inside a semiconducting crystal at high intensities (1011 to 1013 W/cm2). In HHG in semiconducting crystals, the physical mechanisms are different from those in atomic or molecular gases because of the large density of emitters, of the electronic band structure and the crystal symmetries. Thanks to the solid state nature of the emitting medium, miniaturizing XUV attosecond sources (1 attosecond = 1-18 second) becomes possible, as well as their integration inside optoelectronic devices. Using this radiation for applications requires to control and to shape the generated light. We recently demonstrated that optical vortices with various topologies could be generated. Those OAM beam have a helical wave front around a phase singularity and an annular intensity profile. To generate such nanometric vortices, we nano-structured on the exit side of the semiconducting crystal (ZnO) a spiral Fresnel zone plate (SZP). This SZP combines focusing and OAM manipulation to create a focused optical vortex (left hand side figure).  We studied those autofocusing OAM beams in several configurations, among which an off axis geometry that generated a vortex with a 400 nm inner diameter with an excellent contrast in the first order (right hand side figure). Other geometries based on metasurfaces could be used to manipulate light beyond the diffraction limit, in order to control for instance the polarization and the OAM. We foresee many potential applications in optical trapping, quantum technologies at the nanometer scale or writing topological magnetic domains.

Left: Principle of laser harmonic generation in a semiconducting crystal. The spiral Fresnel zone plate on the back side of the crystal creates an optical vortex. Right: Experimental result with an off axis SZP (SEM image of the structure in inset). Experimental intensity distribution of harmonic order 5 on the focal plane at zeroth and first diffraction orders, where the annular intensity profile of the optical vortex is clearly visible.

Référence : David Gauthier, Shatha Kaassamani, Dominik Franz,Rana Nicolas, Jean-Thomas Gomes, Laure Lavoute, Dmitry Gaponov, Sébastien Février, Gaëtan Jargot, Marc Hanna, Willem Boutu and Hamed Merdji. Orbital angular momentum from semiconductor high-order harmonics.  Optics Letters 44, 546 (2019). 

Results obtained in the framework of the project High repetition rate Laser hArmonics in Crystals (HILAC) funded by topic 3 of LabEx PALM coordinated by Willem Boutu (LIDyL).

Génération d’harmoniques d’un faisceau laser dans un cristal semi-conducteur

Willemn Boutu (LIDyL), Marc Hanna (LCF)

Les faisceaux porteurs de moment angulaire orbital (OAM) ont conduit à des applications étonnantes dans divers domaines, de l’information quantique à la microscopie. Ces faisceaux sont générés principalement dans le visible, et l’extension récente dans le domaine XUV par génération d’harmoniques d’ordre élevé (GH) ouvre la voie à la réalisation de vortex nanométriques.

La GH est produite ici en focalisant dans un semi-conducteur une impulsion laser femtoseconde à des éclairements élevés (1011 à 1013W/cm²). Les mécanismes de la GH dans les semiconducteurs sont différents de ceux qui se produisent dans les atomes et molécules, en raison de la forte densité d’émetteurs, de la structure de bandes et des symétries du cristal. Le milieu de génération étant à « l’état solide », la miniaturisation d’une source XUV attoseconde (1 attoseconde = 10-18 seconde) est envisageable, ainsi que son intégration dans des dispositifs optoélectroniques. L’utilisation pour des applications passe par le contrôle et le façonnage de la lumière générée. Nous avons récemment montré qu’il était possible de générer des vortex optiques de topologie variable. Ces faisceaux OAM présentent un front d’onde hélicoïdal autour d’une singularité de phase et une distribution d’intensité annulaire. Afin de réaliser des vortex nanométriques, nous avons « nano-structuré » directement la sortie du semiconducteur (ZnO) en une lentille de Fresnel en spirale (spiral zone plate, SZP). La SZP combine la focalisation et la manipulation du moment angulaire orbital pour créer un vortex optique focalisé (figure de gauche). Ces faisceaux OAM autofocalisants ont été étudiés dans plusieurs configurations dont la géométrie SZP hors axe qui a permis d’obtenir un vortex de 400 nm de diamètre intérieur avec un excellent contraste dans l’ordre 1 (figure de droite). D’autres dispositifs basés sur des métasurfaces sont envisagés afin de manipuler la lumière au-delà de la limite de diffraction, pour le contrôle notamment de la polarisation et du moment angulaire orbital. Les applications sont nombreuses dans le piégeage optique, la manipulation quantique à l’échelle nanométrique ou encore l’écriture de domaines magnétiques topologiques

A gauche : Principe de la génération d’harmoniques d’un faisceau laser dans un cristal semi-conducteur. La lentille de Fresnel en spirale (SZP), à la surface de sortie du cristal, permet la création d’un vortex optique. A droite : Résultat expérimental pour une SZP hors axe (image de microscopie électronique à balayage). Mesure de la distribution d’intensité de l’harmonique d’ordre 5 au niveau du plan focal pour l’ordre zéro et le premier ordre de diffraction, pour lequel on mesure une distribution d’intensité annulaire du vortex optique.

Référence : David Gauthier, Shatha Kaassamani, Dominik Franz,Rana Nicolas, Jean-Thomas Gomes, Laure Lavoute, Dmitry Gaponov, Sébastien Février, Gaëtan Jargot, Marc Hanna, Willem Boutu and Hamed Merdji. Orbital angular momentum from semiconductor high-order harmonics.  Optics Letters 44, 546 (2019). 

Résultats obtenus dans le cadre du projet High repetition rate Laser hArmonics in Crystals (HILAC) financé par le thème 3 du LabEx PALM et porté par Willem Boutu (LIDyL).